Featured Image

Reviews of The Imperial Hawaii Resort

3.5 out of 5
The Imperial Hawaii Resort
205 Lewers St, Honolulu, HI

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.0

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 324 out of 989 reviews
5 - Excellent 33%
Rating 4 - Good. 425 out of 989 reviews
4 - Good 43%
Rating 3 - Okay. 162 out of 989 reviews
3 - Okay 16%
Rating 2 - Poor. 54 out of 989 reviews
2 - Poor 5%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 24 out of 989 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

3.9/5

Cleanliness

4.1/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Amenities

3.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The customer service here outstanding! I had no idea I had valet parking not a pool! It was a lovely surprise. The room was nice & comfy, & I will stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Aug 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location is great. Resort had numerous maintenance issues. No hot water on 3 occasions during our week stay. When I called on the water maintenance would come up and run the water for about 5 minutes tell me they would check the boiler room and then I wouldn’t hear from them again. Water hot hot but then cold again. Air conditioning went out once. We’re told it was a power outage but we had power. ? Pool is very small. Hotel guests and employees do not follow Covid rules when it comes to elevator use. Many times we had to wait 10 minutes for an elevator.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Disliked: Cleanliness
I like the property is close to the beach stores restaurants, but the unites is not very clean, bathrooms is in bad condition, air condition not working good, parking fee is extra we have to pay for each day,
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Staff services were very nice.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was amazing and friendly. Great location!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Overall, very good. Trying to try the pool, the gym, always full and too small so did not try any of their amenities. I feel like parking fee is so high too. Due to the pandemic, no daily cleaning but i do understand it’s for safety of everyone. They do promptly come and deliver what you need in your room.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Greg location, clean, could see the oven from hotel room
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 19, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Property is a little outdated in furnishings, but quaint. Staff was amazing, no complaints.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 16, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Rooms are a little small. We were in a newly remodeled unit so it was very nice and matched the pictures online. Kitchen sinks don't have disposals so we had to be careful not to clog. Staff was great, good location walking distance to beach, shopping, and food.
Stayed 10 nights in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
The staff was very rude and impatient. I understand this job deals with a lot of tourists but to be blatantly rude is not okay. The hotel was nice. The sofa looked out of date but that's okay.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 9, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 16, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from TonyG on Jul 14, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Satisfactory stay- the unit was larger than neighboring buildings, and there are two hot tubs and two pools. Great, walkable location. Our only complaint was that the beach front area nearby was used for the catamarans and pretty much unusable. We had to walk several blocks to find an open sandy area. Overall would stay again.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from TonyG on Jun 29, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from TonyG on Jun 29, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Love everything about this hotel.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from TonyG on Jun 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021
Response from TonyG on Jun 9, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Extra fees for room, taxed per day, hidden fee charged to the room of 35$ per day for valet parking. Fees should have been disclosed before booking the room. 3 day stay went from 728, to 989. Hotel was great but not worth 300 a day
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from TonyG on Jun 9, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Our Palm Suite was extremely antiquated and worn. The beds were hard and the pillows quite lumpy. The linens seemed clean, which is a plus. However, there was so much dust in the room, even along the headboards that twice I found small spider crawling on my pillow. The beach area around this location is full of filth and smells of trash. The homelessness in the area is heart breaking. We would not stay here again, honestly. That said, if you like a true downtown city vibe, consider this your Brooklyn of Hawaii.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from TonyG on Jun 9, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from TonyG on Jun 9, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Upon check-in I was upgraded to an ocean view room! I loved the traditional Hawai’ian furniture throughout the suite as well! Located in a great spot and the staff was super welcoming. I’ll definitely be staying here again!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from TonyG on Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 6 nights in Apr 2021
Response from TonyG on Apr 19, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 7, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
NYE stay
Great location. Right next to good restaurants and coffee. Not too far from the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice and accommodating. Pictures were a little deceiving. Room appeared to be much bigger in picture than in person. Otherwise no issues.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 5, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020
Response from TonyG on Feb 8, 2021
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from tonyg on Dec 30, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2020
Response from tonyg on Aug 19, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
taycation
Did a staycation for one night. The staff was beyond amazing and it felt like we had the whole hotel almost to ourselves. Can’t wait to stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020
Response from tonyg on Jul 14, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
It was a excellent hotel.
Stayed 14 nights in Mar 2020
Response from tonyg on Mar 27, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
Response from tonyg on Mar 20, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great location, staff helpful, rooms were a good size and clean and fresh. Mattress wasn’t great but ok. Overall I would definitely stay there again
Stayed 9 nights in Feb 2020
Response from tonyg on Mar 11, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020
Response from tonyg on Mar 9, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
Room not suitable for rent.
Our stay was fine. The disappointment was the kitchenette. It was extremely unsafe. Immediately above the kitchen sink is the only electrical outlet in the entire kitchen. How this pasted inspection is beyond my wildest dream! Then the microwave is situated in the center of the cupboard and sticks out so far that reaching anything below it is almost impossible without hitting your head to it. I manage to walk into it only twice in the 12 days we were there. This booking was done well in advance (like more than 6 months, so I would think we could have been given a better room. I know they do have better rooms than what we were given. Very disappointed. I will definitely check the room before accepting it in the future . I feel we were taken advantage in this situation.
Stayed 12 nights in Feb 2020
Response from tonyg on Mar 17, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly staff. Great location. Strange hot tub situation. Nice but tiny pool.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from tonyg on Feb 25, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great location
It is always hard to find somewhere in Waikiki that is in a great location for a reasonable price that has a kitchen. Unfortunately it wasn't really a kitchen, it had a microwave and a small fridge and one glass bow to cook anything in. The view from the balcony was great, the noise a bit off putting from the other hotels (i.e. the back of those hotels air conditioning systems).
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2020
Response from tonyg on Feb 25, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

3/5 Okay

Male at check in counter was unfriendly. Did not say hello. Only requested iD and credit card. Pointed out all the things we could not do like smoke, use members' club, etc. Told me he could not guarantee early check in & did not volunteer to check on it until I asked a second time. Felt like a greeting/check-in at a low class establishment. The ladies at the counter on other encounters were much more welcoming and helpful. Also had a issue with our room having smoke in it. The manager was helpful in getting our third person relocated to other room at a discounted rate, but did nothing re our room rate; we would not have rented a unit for 3 if we had known only 2 of us would be staying there and feel that a price adjustment on our room should have been made. Currently a second charge for our room is pending on my American Express Card; hopefully this charge will not go through as the room as already been paid for once.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from tonyg on Feb 12, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We will be looking further into your concerns. Our pledge is to be genuinely friendly and to immediately resolve issues. We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It was the best ever ! Usually stay at the other end of Waikiki but this stay was even better. Everyone here at the Imperial is exception above and beyond:))
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020
Response from tonyg on Feb 6, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 30, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
This was my husband’s first trip to Hawaii and I wanted it to be wonderful. This beautiful hotel is in a great location, close to everything that is Waikiki. We weren’t interested in shopping, but if we had been, we were in the right place as there are fine stores all around this hotel.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 27, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Love the location and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 27, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities
Great Location. comfortable beds, friendly staff handy having ABC shop downstairs
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 20, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities
Location was outstanding, close to beach and Lagoon. Rooftop Bar amazing but only open to the public once during our 7 night stay.
Stayed 7 nights in Jan 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 14, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Convenient one bedroom suite
The one bedroom suite worked really well for our family. Great to have balconies with ocean views. Convenient location and clean unit. One downside, hot tubs were dirty so we didn't feel comfortable using them.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2019
Response from tonyg on Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel is in the perfect location in Waikiki for shopping and beach access. The lobby was pristine, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 16th floor. It was newly renovated, and could not have been in better condition.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
Response from tonyg on Jan 6, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Location is great for beach access and shopping . It was over proces $320 a night and our barhroom sink was clogged the whole time
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019
Response from tonyg on Jan 6, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities
Great location. Close to beach and main strip. Lots of shopping near by
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
Response from tonyg on Jan 3, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from tonyg on Jan 3, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2019
Response from tonyg on Dec 31, 2019
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
GREAT STAY
WHAT A GREAT STAY, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE, WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
Response from tonyg on Jan 6, 2020
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities
The most amazing hotel in Waikiki. We were greeted by the awesome Eric who was fabulous in every way. I wish I had booked my entire stay here. Thank you Eric. Because of you we will stay at the imperial every-time. Its am absolute gem. The housekeeping & valet staff were awesome, professional & helpful. Special mention to Luz for making our stay even more delightful. Management please let them know how delightful they both are. You have true treasures who work for you. Room 1608 & 808 were both fabulous. Clean, huge & homely . A wonderful little piece of Home away from Home. My family have enjoyed staying here. So much we don’t want to go. home 💜. Imperial Resirt hotel would be the best hotel in Waikiki. Mahalo Taylor-Simi Family
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2019
Response from tonyg on Dec 30, 2019
Thank you for staying with us here at The Imperial Hawaii Resort. We appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in the near future.