Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2020 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Samantha from Chicago

Beautiful and Relaxing Stay

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed two nights at the Jinya, and it was a great experience at a traditional Japanese Inn. It is very conveniently located a few steps off of the Tsurimaki-onsen stop on the Odakuya line, however it is a remote town so there are no other food or entertainment options besides the relaxing (and pricey) Jinya. I was traveling with my friend who is a vegan, and since we gave them a heads up about her dietary needs before our arrival, they were very accommodating. The first night, we opted not to have the elaborate dinner that costs 12,000 yen per person and instead went a la carte for 5,000 yen per person. The meal was still a multi-course event and more than enough food. My friend’s vegan meal was fantastic as well. Breakfast was included in our stay, and this was also an elaborate, multi-course affair. The second breakfast I opted to have a vegan meal as well and it was one of the top meals I’ve had in Japan. The room we stayed in was very spacious and had a private in-room bathroom and onsen. Very, very relaxing after all of our busy travels through Japan. The staff spoke some English, but enough for us to communicate effectively. They were all very attentive and helpful. Overall, the Jinya was an incredible experience and I would highly recommend for anyone who is looking for a change of pace for a night or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur , Malaysia

Exclusive, serene, beautiful resort

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The gardens and setting is beautiful.
Cons: Perhaps it is fair to let travellers know the charges in advance for using the room that they impose (this is on top of room rates).
Location: The family mart and eki was nearby.
Pleasantly surprised by the warm reception and welcome by staff. Beautiful, serene resort setting. However, no dining facilities except for the one at the resort, which turned out to be very expensive. Everything was charged, without any indication of the charges, from biscuits,socks and to usage of amenities in the room. Even the onsen was charged, a small amount, but there was no bathroom in the ryokan, so you have no choice but to use the onsen.
3 out of 5
by Yiming from Canada

Close to Tokyo, Nice Garden, Noisy Rooms

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
It is only an hour away from the center of Tokyo, it is a good choice for a spontaneous weekend relaxation trip. The Ryokan is in a residential area. It is sad that there is a mid rise apartment building close to the site. Cons: Very bad room planing, Noisy rooms. The room next to ours is just for banquet, we can hear people talking and laughing loudly until almost 10pm. The service of staff is also varied. And the price on Hotel.com is not including any meals. For the total amount of money we have spend including dinner and breakfast, we would expect a better experience.
4 out of 5
by LC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ana

Comfortable and serene

Posted Oct 9, 2012 on Hotels
The ryokan is located in a suburban setting, but once you arrive to the entrance you'll immediately forget about the hectic city, with its beautiful gardens, ponds and bamboo trees. The staff was very pleasant and courteous. The outdoor baths are very maintained, clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and obviously prepared with care with their nice presentation. We stayed 3 nights but we should've just did 2, because there's not a lot to do in the neighbourhood or at the ryokan The restaurant only services at meal times, and there's no lounge or bar, but if you're just looking for a relaxing time, hang out in your room with a book, or short strolls in the garden, it's a very good place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2020
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

お庭と人に癒されました🎵

Posted Feb 26, 2018
スタッフの方々の対応の素晴らしさ。 料理の素晴らしさ。 お庭の素晴らしさ。 最高でした。まさにおもてなしのお宿です。