Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Jun 6, 2018
Fantastic breakfast!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Old

Posted Jun 1, 2018
This hotel mattress and all furnitures are too old. Especially, bath rooms are looks very old and not quite clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and convenience

Posted Apr 16, 2018 on Hotels
Overall is pretty good. Great location with subway station next door, which is very convenient for travel in Shanghai. The are not many power plugs in the room for charging the phones, and no plugs nearby beds. The shower head cannot be taken down. Relatively older facility compare to other newly built 5-star hotels in Shanghai. But with such good price, I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Posted Apr 2, 2018
The hotel overall is good. Very good location, you can have all transportation
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2018 on Hotels
I have stayed in this hotel many times in the last 25 years. Hwa Ting holds a special memory for me and my family. This time, I enjoy staying here except that air condition is not working well. The room was very warm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2018
This hotel needs to be updated asap! The whole facility is pretty old! The breakfast costs too much! The people are very nice and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Good location which is just step away from Metro. Aged but still clean in acceptable level and room space is bigger comparison to modern new hotel. Nice staffs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

OLD HOTEL, NO TRANSPORTATION

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: it was close to the train station
Cons: The bedrooms all need a revamp as they are all very old and tired
Location: There is a shopping center near the stadium. There are lots of food varieties around the area which are really good !
We had booked 4 bedrooms for this hotel months in advance online through Expedia, I had left detailed notes of our flight details as I had believed that there was free transportation on the way back as it states on the site "Free airport transportation - drop-off ". Please be aware there is no free transportation to and from the airport what so ever. When we arrived at the hotel they had placed us all on separate levels which was frustrating since we booked the rooms together we expected to at least stay on the same floor. Each room we had gone into had a very strong smoke smell in the bedrooms as though someone had just smoked in our bedrooms even though there were no smoking signs everywhere. We went down and the reception knew exactly what we were talking about instantly gave us new rooms which were all on the same level and close to each other ( which he could've done in the first place ). The smell in the bedrooms was much better. The heaters in our rooms were constantly on high and we were unable to adjust it as all of them were broken. The only way they were able to adjust this was by opening the windows which is not what you want when hiring a hotel on your holiday.
4 out of 5
by Jie

An old grandeur in desparate need of a makeover

Posted Dec 26, 2017 on Hotels
This used to be one of the first five star hotels in Shanghai, with the elaborately fancy lobby to back it up. However, it was evident that they let the place go: 1) the fitness center has exercise machines that are rusted and nonfunctional, the steam room in women's locker room is also nonfunctional; 2) the hallway is inundated with cigarette smell; 3) the bathroom of the guest room begs a remodeling as the cracks in between tiles are not clean.
4 out of 5
by yaochiu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels