Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Our 5 Day Rome trip

Posted Jun 27, 2018
Pros: Everything
Location: It is near the colosseum either by foot or one stop on the metro. The metro station is within 10 minutes walk.
We stayed at Hotel Villa San Pio for 5 nights and I couldn’t recommend the hotel more. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and helped me and my husband to our room with our bags. The room was amazing for the price and very clean. We had breakfast every morning and the choice was excellent. The staff were very attentive. We hadn’t visited Rome before so we needed advice on how to access the main tourist sites and the reception staff were happy to help and provide a map of the local area if we wanted to walk and where the local metro station was (within 10 minutes walk) If we were to visit Rome again we would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2018
Gorgeous garden!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be upgraded

Posted Jun 11, 2018
Even though the hotel has a cool historic feel the facilities and fixtures can definitely be upgraded. The bathroom was super old with faucets not getting adjusted and bathtub being very slippery. You can’t get an iron in the room you have to go the roof to use an a common iron in an old room. The location was decent close proximity to some main attractions on Uber. Two good features were free parking and breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2018
This hotel was quiet and we had a nice little porch facing the garden. The mattress felt old and was fairly uncomfortable with bad pillows. There was mold growing all over the corners of bathroom ceiling!! YUK! Needs improvements!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Same diego

Posted Jun 1, 2018
The staff is so nice... the hotel is pretty and nestled within a residential neighborhood. The breakfast was lovely. Now comes the other stuff- the bed was rock hard, if you need to walk to this hotel at night from the Vatican or any historical sites you visited, don’t, it’s dangerous and sketchy and you will get people following you with bad intentions. Thus forcing you to taxi it back. The hotel doesn’t include your VAT so you don’t get your taxes back. For the cost of the hotel, go stay somewhere more centrally located to the city and people. I wouldn’t stay here again for the price I could have stayed in a safer area and not paid the insane taxi prices to and from coming back at night -
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2018
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted May 23, 2018
Very nice and helpful staff. Very nice neighborhood, safe and convenient. Has some parking but unless you LIKE to drive in Rome I would take Uber or taxes. All staff spoke English. Very good breakfast. Very good restaurant ( Trattoria "Perilli" ) at the bottom of the hill, easy short walk. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Nice hotel in a residential area

Posted Mar 31, 2018
Pros: TripAdvisor
Cons: The room and bathroom can be improved. There was only a shower and the shower panels did not touch completely so you would get the floor wet.
Location: It’s 15 min walk to the Forums.
This boutique hotel has a shabby chic interior which is quintessentially Italian. The staff are the biggest assets of this hotel. The breakfast is good and has good variety but don’t expect the full fried breakfast. However it does have bacon and egg which is delicious. Having looked at the pictures of this hotel and no other room, apart from a single or triple, available on Expedia, we expected a larger room. Our room was small and in need of some TLC. The hotel is about 20 to 30 mins from the center on foot which doesn’t sound much but if you add that on top of a whole day walking it’s exhausting. After the first day we went everywhere by cab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Ideal location for sight seeing

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Value for money hotel,friendly staff. Ideal location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

excellent hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Excellent hotel, staff very friendly and helpful rooms very comfy and clean and breakfast selection excellent. Hotel has good links to all attractions and area is in a very classy area. overall if I returned to rome it would be this hotel.