Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nagasaki

Posted Aug 4, 2019
Everything was clean and tidy. The only thing I noticed was they didn’t change cups which we used when they cleaned the room while we were out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2019
It was very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2019
The view was special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2018
Very good location and the staff were incredibly helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Located opposite to Wakayama Castle, though not close to JR station Friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of Wakayama castle.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Room was spacious and the view from the was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and convenient as expected

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was standard, clean, comfortable, as expected from all hotel stays. But the location was about 10-15min bus ride away from the main JR Wakayama station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Great Castle View

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: View. Friendly staff. Breakfast room.
Cons: Some renovation is probably due soon.
Location: It's about 10 min walk from Wakayama-City Station, that's 20 min or so from Wakayama St by train. Not terribly convenient. But nice environment around
Booked and stayed for 1 night in a double room. Free upgrade to Lady's Package (bunch of cosmetics samples and some extra teas in the room) was given :) My room had SUPERB view of Wakayama Castle, which was breath taking. Room was a bit old, and I found some hairs on bathroom floor, and washlet on toilet didn't work, plus the air-con didn't chill the air and it was hot, and bathroom was like the smallest I have ever used, but otherwise it was a clean and comfortable room. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was good. The castle view from the restaurant was even better than my room's. There was free coffee at the reception, so I could grab one to go when setting off for a little hike, which was lovely. There was a leaflet about seafood eatery in the room so I tried it, it was OK, but nothing spectacular. It was overly busy for them so service was so slow. Nice ladies serving and was pleasant enough though.
4 out of 5
by sarah from Richmond, BC

Business hotel -- smokey

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Smokey Breakfast was good Basic 'business' hotel Neighbourhood doesn't have a lot to offer except Wakayama castle across the street
3 out of 5
by Calvin from USA

It serves it's purpose

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Just stayed here one night to see Wakayama Castle before catching a plane out of KIX the next afternoon. For that it served its purpose. The room/hotel is older, so don't have high expectations when you arrive. That said, if you can get it cheap, it will be a functional place for you to stay the evening. I would not recommend it for long term stays.