Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2019
Excellent service, excellent food, excellent onsen, excellent hospitality
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2019 on Orbitz
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel with small onsen area

Posted Jun 25, 2019 on Hotels
Second time stayed in an onsen hotel and this one is just ok. The futon is not quite comfortable so if you picky with your bed you might struggle falling asleep. It has two onsens: one outdoor and one indoor. Recommend the outdoor one as you get a good breeze from the view while soaking yourself in the hot water. The onsen area is a bit small compared to the other onsen hotel I went to last time. Both onsen are not exclusively to hotel guests, anyone pays for onsen entry fees can access, i.e. the onsen can get really packed in certain time/season. The dinner, which I expected the most, turned out to be an average one. In general, if you looking for a lifetime impressive onsen experience to treat yourselves, you might look for others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2019
Very excellent stay, we didn't experience any of the things stated in some negative reviews on expedia. Amenities are new and the place looks so much better than what is shown in the pictures. Only thing that could be improved is that the baths/springa are a bit dated. They still provided an amazing experience, but the look of the onsen wasn't spectacular
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2019
The best experience in kyoto. They have very nice food and service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2018
We loved the view of the mountains & friendly staff and service :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2018
Good value for money, hotel staffs are extremely friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth staying!

Posted Oct 13, 2018 on Hotels
Overall the experience was great. Unfortunately there were a few mosquitoes or bugs in the room otherwise I had a great time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Sep 29, 2018
Not worth the price. Check-in at 4pm and out at 10am. You have dinner around 6:30-7pm which allows you one, maybe 2 trips to the baths. You are served several courses in your room and food is mediocre at best. The next morning breakfast is served promptly at 8:30 and you are pestered to eat. My husband was told 3 times to eat while he waited for me. Again, food was mediocre and left us less than fulfilled. Even though we woke up early to hike, there was still a rush to get to the baths, eat, and check out at 10. Initially they would not drive us in their complimentary shuttle to the train station even though it was raining. They suggested a walk down the road for a bus that would take much longer to arrive in Kyoto versus the train, which we already had passes for. I would have much rather stayed at a Ryoken instead. Disappointed and left feeling like I wasted my money and time. Not worth an “authentic” experience when it doesn’t feel like the real thing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing retreat

Posted Sep 27, 2018 on Hotels
This hotel is a great getaway from Kyoto- it takes about an hour to get here from the city. The service is fantastic, the food was good, and the onsen was nice.