Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2019
Very excellent stay, we didn't experience any of the things stated in some negative reviews on expedia. Amenities are new and the place looks so much better than what is shown in the pictures. Only thing that could be improved is that the baths/springa are a bit dated. They still provided an amazing experience, but the look of the onsen wasn't spectacular
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2019
The best experience in kyoto. They have very nice food and service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2018
We loved the view of the mountains & friendly staff and service :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2018
Good value for money, hotel staffs are extremely friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth staying!

Posted Oct 13, 2018 on Hotels
Overall the experience was great. Unfortunately there were a few mosquitoes or bugs in the room otherwise I had a great time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Sep 29, 2018
Not worth the price. Check-in at 4pm and out at 10am. You have dinner around 6:30-7pm which allows you one, maybe 2 trips to the baths. You are served several courses in your room and food is mediocre at best. The next morning breakfast is served promptly at 8:30 and you are pestered to eat. My husband was told 3 times to eat while he waited for me. Again, food was mediocre and left us less than fulfilled. Even though we woke up early to hike, there was still a rush to get to the baths, eat, and check out at 10. Initially they would not drive us in their complimentary shuttle to the train station even though it was raining. They suggested a walk down the road for a bus that would take much longer to arrive in Kyoto versus the train, which we already had passes for. I would have much rather stayed at a Ryoken instead. Disappointed and left feeling like I wasted my money and time. Not worth an “authentic” experience when it doesn’t feel like the real thing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing retreat

Posted Sep 27, 2018 on Hotels
This hotel is a great getaway from Kyoto- it takes about an hour to get here from the city. The service is fantastic, the food was good, and the onsen was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Aug 11, 2018
Very nice, mesls excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CA

Commune with nature while relaxing

Posted Jul 4, 2018
We stayed at the Kurama onsen overnight and our stay was quite pleasant. It is a bit out-of-the-way from Kyoto and if you do not know your way around the area, it may be challenging to get to the there. If you are on a time crunch like us, make sure give yourself enough time to get there as they serve dinner by 6 PM and if you miss this then they will not probably not serve you anymore. The kaiseki dinner was good. It was very filling with five courses of different types of traditional Japanese food. They do not teach you step by step what goes with what food so be guided by your taste. After the dinner we went to the onsen which was a good experience. To me it just felt like a regular hot tub in the United States, however what is special is there is no chlorine in the water so you do not get a headache smelling chlorine while you are soaking in the tub and if you are the type who likes to be “free” and not bashful then this is perfect for you. We had a very good sleep in their tatami mats. If you close the air conditioning and open the windows you can hear the river gushing while you are sleeping. By the next morning you are against served another round of traditional Japanese breakfast which is as pleasant as their dinner. Their staff is very pleasant and polite. They are very accommodating and tried to answer all of our questions even with limited English speaking staff. Over all we were very happy with our stay. This is a good one in a lifetime experience for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2018
Great experience! Totally authentic Japanese hosptality!