Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Authentic Japan at its best

Posted Jan 3, 2019 on Hotels
This place was the most authentic experience of Japanese life we’ve encountered. The hotel is run by a lovely couple with limited English but their helpfulness and kindness completely made up for that. The breakfast setting in the traditional Gassho-style dining room is nothing short of spectacular. It made us feel like that scene had been played out exactly like that for the last few hundred years. Our room was a tatami room with paper sliding doors, exactly like you’d imagine Japan to look like! Absolutely loved it, would certainly go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff , far from the pictures and center

Posted Aug 15, 2018 on Hotels
The staff are very nice and helping, gives shattle as needed. The guesthouse is very far from the center/public transportation. It’s also with pictures that not reflect reality, the room is a bit old and the sink in the room is old and leaking.( there is a strong old wooden smell in the room)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nagoya, Japan

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Not worth the price, a little expensive for the value and condition of the room and food. Also No bathtub/onsen like I thought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phuket

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Nice ! Quite far from town, 15-20 mins walk to train station and up on the hill. However, nice property, good breakfast and nice hospitality from the owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Nice ryokan near Hida Folk Village

Posted Apr 15, 2017
My boyfriend and I had a lovely time at Hida Gasshoen. It is a bit far from Takayama main center but you can ask the ryokan staff to pick you at the train station if needed. It is located near Hida Folk Village, and the area is really nice looking and quiet. Our room was very clean and comfortable, japansee style but with it's own mini bathroom. We spent a peaceful evening in it and slept well. Breakfast was nice, a funny mix between japanese (rice, fish, pickles, miso soup..) and european food (pasta, chicken nuggets, salad...). Overall we definitely had a pleasant stay in this hotel for a decent price, and if you don't mind being a bit far from the center of the city, go for it !
5 out of 5
by Alan from Denver

Fabulous though a long walk

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful traditional-style place, great breakfasts, nice rooms and bath. Over a mile away from downtown (a manageable uphill walk,turn at the Teddy Bear museum, or short taxi ride), but otherwise ideal!
2 out of 5
by Christopher from Melbourne

Not worth it. Stay in town and catch bus to Hida.

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
Although claiming on the website to provide pick up from the train station, this was not the case. When we called upon arrival we were told that they weren't doing pick ups that day. I have since read other reviews with similar complaints. The room was tiny, and we were shocked to discover that not only did we have to make up our own beds, but also dig all the linen from out of the cupboards ourselves. The website implied that dinner was provided and/or available at the ryokan as it was outside of town and guests would not be able to purchase food independently. We were dismayed to find this was not the case. Although the staff were able to add us to the dinner lists at the last minute, the food provided was nice but a small amount for the price. Other ryokans we stayed in had served much more food for a similar price or less. In summary, I would not recommend this ryokan. I get the feeling that the attraction lies in its proximity to the Hida village and little more. I'd also like to add that its not worth staying over night at the Hida village as there really is nothing to do there. Id advise staying in the town, which is beautiful, and only an easy 10 minute bus ride away from the Historic villiage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia, kl

Nice hotel to experience Japan life style

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Some small bugs fell off from the light, and sharing toilet is a bit inconvenient, especially in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England, USA

Amazing, Historic Building

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, the vibe, the historic setting.
Cons: My first suggestion would be to improve the baths if possible.
Location: Hida-no-sato, the historic preservation park next door, is fascinating. The markets, ridge walk at the edge of town from one shrine/temple to another.
Stay here for the atmosphere. A bit far from town and the historic building means also that the facilities are a bit rustic. But the buildings (accommodations in one, dining room in the other connected with inside passageway) are truly amazing --- other houses just like this one are in the park next door devoted to the historic preservation of these building. The surroundings are also beautiful. The bath left a bit to be desired, though the showers were fine. The staff were really helpful. The food was great. Everything was traditional, aka you will be sitting and sleeping on the floor except for some couches in the shared parlors. Look past the less-than-luxury at a unique stay.