Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elmira, OR

Posted Jun 19, 2019
Great late-nite bar with piano and great singer! Spacious room. Very comfortable beds. Gas fireplace didn’t work, couldn’t figure out how to turn on heat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thomasville

Posted Jun 13, 2019
Beautiful castle and grounds, staff was very attentive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2019
Beautiful old hotel. I liked the quaintness of the place. Welcoming fireplaces and home feel to the hotel. Staff as very nice and owner went out of his way to make you feel welcome. Restaurant was very good and offered a variety of choices daily. Breakfast was wonderful. Walkable to town which was charming. I would return to this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2019
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Posted May 25, 2019
The whole property felt a bit worn out for how expensive the rooms were compared to other castle hotels we visited. The view from our room was spectacular, however, and the property was an easy walk into Clifden.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2019
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2019
PEACEFUL SURROUNDING PLEASANT STAFF COMFORTABLE BED
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2019
It’s a pleasant 19th century castle, redone and modernized. Huge bathrooms and great views and character. Price was not that far from other, lesser hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2019
Great and Unique experience. Highly recommended, if visiting Clifden
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Posted May 6, 2019
Upon our check in we were greeted very warmly by the friendly staff. We were shown to our room, but our room wasn't ready yet. They were so apologetic (even though it was no big deal to us) and made sure to make up for this by giving us a complimentary bottle of wine! They told us that evening we were invited to a history lesson from the owner over free champagne (endless glasses were served). This was absolutely lovely! We sat in the bar area with a lovely fire, surrounded by other couples listening to the history over champagne. Dinner and breakfast were amazing. It is quite a long drive out to the castle, but it's through the AMAZING Connemara National Park so I highly recommend this place! The staff couldn't have been more welcoming!